My new world of Digital Media Marketing


  • By 2016, more than half of the dollars spent in US retail will be influenced by the web.
  • 20% of Facebook users have purchased something because of ads or comments they saw there. 
  • 88% of adults in the US have a cell phone, 57% have a laptop, 19% own an e-reader, and 19% have a tablet. 
  • 64% of smartphone owners are using their mobile devices to shop online .
  • YouTube users watch more than 3B hours of video per month.
  • 73% of smartphone owners access social networks through apps at least once per day.


Those are some bold statements.  Bold, but true it seems.  These are all stats that I have been recently becoming accustomed to.
Over the past 5 years, I have slowly evolved my career path from that of a salesman, to that of a digital media marketer.  To this point I have done it solely by reading a lot and learning on the fly.  I have built a email marketing campaign, managed our company website and more.  But it’s only recently that I have really been immersed in the beast that is digital media marketing.

I say it’s only recently, because only recently have I started to build a new website and added in socia media to the mix.  In this time alone, I have learned more than I have in my entire career.
I’ve learned what Hootsuite is and why it’s necessary if you are going to manage 7 social media feeds (business and personal combined).  I’ve learned about Site Catalyst, bit.ly, SAS, Scoopit, Netbase.  I’m practicing blogging and video blogging skills (hence the spike in blogs from here on out).  It’s an exiting path!

I’ve learned that not only do 88% of US adults have a cell phone, 57% a laptop, 19% an e-reader and 19% a tablet.  I’ve learned that there is a different way to market to each of those consumers.  I different keyword or different post rate or different click through ad or a different landing page that will make each of those US adults buy my stuff.

I’m also learning that those stats at the beginning were likely null and void the day after they were posted. They likely rose the next day, and are likely doubled by now. They were posted almost a year ago after-ll.. ha-ha!
But that is why I have, and continue to evolved into the role I am in now.  I’m soon going to be starting the Digital Media Marketing certification program at UMSL (thanks for the tip Leslie!) and somehow I feel like then I will finally be able to get a grasp on all the stats that are out there, growing every day, and passing the old me by.  The old me thought all the social media outlets were for fun.  And the new me is excited to be learing about the other side of the digital media spectrum!
Hope you enjoy my thoughts.

-Ryan Klaas

Leave a Reply

